Serena Williams VS Sloane Stephens: Women’s Tennis Carries On

Image

 

Before I get started, let me say that this photo does not belong to me and I hope the owners don’t mind.  If you own this picture and would like credit, I don’t mind giving credit and if you want me to take it down, I understand.

Now, I watched this epic match today between African American woman Serena Williams and African American woman Sloane Stephens and I could not help but remember when there were no African Americans in tennis, well Arthur Ashe.  I did not watch much tennis when I was a child and for that reason.  I am not a racist, I am just a very proud African American woman.

I recall my father trying to teach my mother and I tennis, but he doesn’t have much patience, so that didn’t last and then came Venus and Serena.  Two girls from Compton, CA..  I thought, “wow”, the first time I saw them. I had never seen anything like them.  They were awesome and they stayed around and the younger one became arguably the  greatest tennis player ever.

Well, Venus and Serena have had some health issues and Serena has rallied back with Venus hanging around to play doubles with little sister.  So, with that said, we have only one African American woman in tennis excelling and then comes along this kid, Sloane Stephens and I honestly believe this kid is going places.

I haven’t seen anyone give Serena a real challenge and run for her money since she and Venus were at the top of their game.  Sure, Serena has lost matches to more than her sister, but I still had not seen such a challenge for her.  Maybe it’s because I don’t watch every match or maybe it’s because she just hasn’t played anyone that great or because there aren’t any great players around, well, besides Venus and Maria Sharapova to play Serena.

Anywho, this little girl, this kid is awesome and I think this rivalry will go on for a while, reminiscent of Venus and Serena, Magic Johnson and Larry Bird, Lakers and Celtics. Watch this kid, she isn’t going anywhere anytime soon and neither is Serena for that matter.

Women’s tennis has new life with Sloane Stephens and she wouldn’t even be recognized if it were not for champion Serena Williams and sister Venus Williams.  They have opened the door for Sloane and for future champions of all races.

Women’s tennis is not dead.  Serena kept it going and now Stephens is here to assist.  This is an exciting time for American Women’s Tennis.

Stay tuned.

